Wauseon faculty board tackles cash and naming points | Native Information

WAUSEON – Issues related to spending money and naming facilities arose at the Education Committee for Exempt Schools meeting in Wauseon on Monday.

With the school being financially precautionary, Superintendent Troy Armstrong was reluctant to attend the Ohio School Board Association’s capital city conference.

“Do we want to go as the board of directors in view of the financial position in which we find ourselves with the fiscal provisions,” asked Armstrong. “Shouldn’t we save about $ 2,500? Shall we go for a day? “

The board of directors interfered with their ideas.

“I don’t know if I feel comfortable spending that much money, given the circumstances,” said Sandy Griggs.

On the subject of money, Treasurer David Fleming raised a few things in his report to the Board of Directors. First of all, he informed the board that an income tax levy would be voted on this fall.

The board of directors passed a resolution on the 2% income tax allocation.

Fleming also announced to the board that the district’s 2014 bond is in the process of being repaid.

“The broker made offers to 61 banks this morning,” Fleming said. “This will save taxpayers an estimated $ 100,000 a year in taxes.”

At a previous meeting, members of the community spoke about the possibility of adding former coach Larry Fruth to the name of the football field and the stadium. However, before the process could begin, the district needed guidelines for such items.

The board agreed on a guideline and hopes to be able to set up a committee to serve for the July or August meetings.

The board also heard from Jenny Tester, the district grocery manager. She explained to the board how the district used grants to pay for meals for the students.

• Approved donations of $ 7,950 to the pantry; $ 184.35 for NWOAL Championships; $ 957.38 for track / soccer scoreboard graphics and $ 250 for homecoming.

• accepted the resignations of Jaz Bluhm, Christina Bergman, Olivia Selgo and Rhonda Borton.

• accepted the resignation of Brenda Aeschliman.

• Approved the revision of LaChelle Thomas’ title from Technology Secretary to Technology Assistant.

• Approved the move of Kyle Borton from fourth grade teacher to assistant director of technology.

• Approved the transfer of Bridget Benedict from Middle School Intervention Specialist to Elementary School Intervention Specialist.

• Approved April Jackson’s transfer from teaching assistant to secretarial assistant.

• Approved the transfer of Trudy Vasvery from three-hour cook to teacher.

• offered contracts to Sydney Nardo, Karin McGilvey, Kimberly Meridieth, Caleb Wyse, Rachel Nagy, Dawn Ankney and Veronica Canales.

• offered Melody Burress a fixed-term contract as a full-time bus driver.

• Nancy Badenhop approved as a sweeper effective June 30th.

• Approved Mike Colon (cross country skiing), Ray Martinez (soccer) and Sam Smith (soccer) as volunteer coaches.

• Set breakfast price to $ 2 and lunch to $ 3.15 for K-12 students for the 2021-22 school year.

• Approved $ 30 Chromebook 1: 1 Insurance Payment for the 2021/22 school year.

• Approved workbook fee set at $ 35 for the 2021-22 school year.

• Approved a motion to enter into an inter-county joint service agreement in all other Fulton County’s school districts to transport students to educational institutions, extracurricular activities and events.